Firefox firebug can slowdown Gmail


I was quiet thrilled when Gmail showed me this error msg. Gmail detected the browser to be firefox and the firebug addon turned on. I use firebug extension when I make AJAX calls on my projects, it is turned on by default.

gmail firebug

In fact Gmail suggest what you can do to fix the problem, here is the link which tells you how to turn the firebug extension disabled for a particular site or even the entire firebug extension to be disabled temporarily.
gmail firebug
What else more you need from Gmail.

Well raises more suspicion, which I had already talked about right here, is Google sneaking in to our privacy.

6 thoughts on “Firefox firebug can slowdown Gmail

  1. I think Google needs to fix GMail if it is slow.. not tell me to turn Firebug off!!

    Sheesh!!.. Who do they think they are?!?!?!

  2. after disabling firebug for gmail Firefox crashes everytime I use gmail.

    thanks google.

  3. usacoder, I’ve been experiencing the same problems. firefox is very crash prone in the past few days

  4. I have the same problem with firefox crashing, but I haven’t looked into it yet. I just read the comment on disabling firebug. I need to go home and reactivate that plug-in and see. I bet that’s it.

    I disabled it after gmail alerted me firebug might make gmail run slower.

    Meh. 🙂

  5. I don’t think the problem is gmail or firebug, but a mix. If you disable firebug for all google site or if you use its”disable” feature after you open gmail I/you will start to see that it take a long time to open new tabs. But if you disable or remove firebug all together under the add-ins section you no longer have this problem. I have found that other sites other then google site can make this happen. I think it is google’s ajax and the way that firebug inspects xml requests but I am not 100% on that.

  6. Try disabling HTML validator for mail.google.com, you can do it in the options for the add-on.

Leave a comment