The Devil in my Mahindra Renault Logan


Meet the Devil right here. After I took my car from my first free service, I returned home and went to buy fruits along with my family. After shopping, we got in to the car, my wife and my son did enter the right side back door as the opposite doors was no were possible to open because I had parked next to wall close to the door. Usually they get in to the companion front seat.

So we drove back home and I had completely switched off my car, so did the central locking system open the safety latches, so as to open the door. But the right side rear door was not opening, she was pulling the lever for sometime, She screamed at me to help her unlock the door, sitting in the driver seat, I turned back and pulled the lever, the door didn’t open. The opposite side door was already facing the wall this time too, as I had done the parking next to a wall.

I unlocked my door, that was possible. Then I felt “Shit man, I asked them to fix the rattling noise at the left side front door, Why did they touch the back door? I thought they screwed the back door” I reached to the back door and pull the lever to unlock the back door. I was crazy, how come it works from outside and not inside.

Took the car this morning “Monday” to the service station.
Don’t you want to meet the devil in my Mahindra Renault Logan. Here it is…
Door Child Safety latch

Door Child Safety latch in on position
Latch or manual lever in ON position top

Door Child Safety latch in off position
Latch or manual lever in OFF position top

Some one at the service station had turned the lever to “ON” State.

The best part is that this small lever works manually, and is called the child safety lock for the rear doors.

How does this work?
If you are going to make sure that kids alone are traveling with you, you switch on the lever and then lock the rear doors.

What ever the damn situation may be. Let it be accident or fire or hell freezes over your car. Your kids can’t unlock the back side car doors.
You must noticed in the Cops cars. They put the criminals back at the rear seats and lock it. No matter what, they can’t unlock from inside. Some one needs to unlock the door from outside, even when central door locking unlocks the safety latch.

Why would I choose to have my kid in the back seats while leaving the car in the off state.

What a moron usability on the Mahindra Renault Logan?
Why can’t the child door lock feature be part of central locking system. If the central locking system disables the safety latch, even the door should be made to open from inside.

Update:
I heard from a close friend, all rear door child lock performs the same way as the Mahindra Logan. Just to note, I have updgraded from Maruti 800, so I am totally unaware of the rear child safety lock. Still I would like all cars to posesses intelligent system. So control for the driver to have more control on the doors or atleast the dashboard to have controls so that any passenger can disable the rear door child lock.

Some more post which are in continuation with Mahindra Renault Logan

  1. Why Mahindra Logan, Renault Logan, Dacia Logan?
  2. Mahindra Logan – Usability Explored
  3. Is your Mahindra Logan in safe hands – After sales, What service
  4. Mahindra Logan – Look out for the new version
  5. Mahindra Renault Logan free service – unveiled
  6. The Devil in my Mahindra Renault Logan
  7. Tested on animals – Mahindra Renault┬áLogan

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “The Devil in my Mahindra Renault Logan

  1. Pingback: Mahindra Renault Logan free service - unveiled « vinodvv aka vcube

  2. Pingback: How I bought my new Mahindra Renault Logan - space, value for Money- Review « vinodvv aka vcube

  3. Pingback: Tested on animals - Mahindra Renault Logan « vinodvv aka vcube

  4. Mate, this speaks volumes of your ignorance. Why blame the machine. Besides, on one hand “it is a sedan in the price of a premium hatch back’; and then you want it to have all the features of a Corolla Altis.

  5. Thanks vinod, I faced a similar ‘devilish’ problem with my maruti ritz. Call it ignorance or whatever, it helped me a lot.

Leave a Reply

